Thursdays Procrasti-post

I’m sitting on bus, it’s a typical Thursday morning and we’re inching through traffic over the Harbour bridge. Moving so slow has got me thinking  – is this the kind of pace I’m limiting my life to?

You know the drill, a long-awaited long weekend, a final exam on Wednesday morning and you only manage to throw in a few hours of study Monday night. You hate yourself a little, but not enough to turn of the 8th episode of “Escape to the Country” for the day. You’re stuck.

Is it laziness? Is it a lack of Motivation? Perhaps whatever it is we keep putting it off just isn’t fulfilling enough. I mean come on, surely if we were truly meant to do something – if it was our life calling – then shouldn’t we feel drawn to it? Shouldn’t it be easy to get off that damn couch?

I have so much to do right now It’s actually absurd. I’m a lunatic for sitting here writing a post about the very thing I’m trying to avoid – yet here I am. I am actively not folding 10 of my 1000 paper cranes, I’m not studying for my final exams next week and I’m not doing anything extra for work. I haven’t got the inspiration to focus on my novel, and I can’t be bothered to paint my nails. I’m just kind of here. Drinking a glass of wine and watching a quirky, rather emotional movie about a young guy who finds out he has Cancer.

“50/50” stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt, the guy from “500 Days of Summer” and is filled with ups and downs as he struggles with his diagnosis. The overall moral of the film was the good old, “Life is damn short, so make the most of it.” It’s ironic and it makes me feel guilty.

Time to google super useful quotes about overcoming procrastination!

“What I’ve learned from running is that the time to push hard is when you’re hurting like crazy and you want to give up. Success is often just around the corner.”
-James Dyson

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been through some pretty hard times and I’ve been pretty hurt along the way too – so where’s my success?

“Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other one thing.” –Abraham Lincoln

I highly doubt that. I want  to do everything, but wanting and doing are very different things. We’ve all learnt that. Thinking about doing something is entirely different to actually going out there and getting it done.

Google where is my motivation?

And then I realized – It’s people. It’s family, friends and the future that make you
move your ass of the couch. It all comes down to wanting to be the best person you can be for them, wanting to celebrate life simply because of the way people make you feel. That’s why we keep going.

A big shout out to my beautiful baby sister who turns the big 1-8 tomorrow. Congratulations lovely. I can’t wait to see where life takes you xx

       1510386_10153739539690347_1231092796_n.jpg    12439428_1339342652749284_3446793935181154119_n

 

What do you think?

