Questions, Insomnia & A depressing lack of fuel.

One of the most frustrating things about being a writer is when your inspiration tank runs empty. I’ve been stuck for over a week, I can’t seem to get anywhere with my novel and everything else I try to write just morphs into meaningless dribble.

So here’s a few questions for you instead – perhaps you can settle my mind with a few logical answers, because I’d really like some sleep soon.

What would happen to the world if we had the ability to select our own memories? Could you imagine being able to wipe away all of the times you’ve fucked up, all of the things you wished you’d never experienced? Would we change?

How would society function without age? I mean, if in some distant future they narrow it down to four rather large categories – infant, child, adult and elder. Would we interact the same or would things change? How would that structure impact our social spheres? How would it influence our perception of each other if, aside from our ‘life stage,’ age were irrelevant?

What would become of humanity if we all had an equal ability to absorb and retain information – if somehow, we all develop cloned super human brains? Would politics exist? What would happen to the economy? What would happen to the power hierarchies that currently dominate society?

And so my annoying brain continues to offer me nothing but questions – running around and around, stemming from one to another and keeping me up at night. Last night my lack of inspiration, and some other annoying life stuff, had me driving aimlessly around at midnight. I ended up two hours down the highway to Melbourne. Unfortunately, you can’t really get there from Sydney on half a tank of fuel. Oh well. Much to do about nothing I suppose…

What do you think?

